Nitrate not going down

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung unserer Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies setzen. Weitere Informationen

• Hi Vinny,
      I have been dosing Ultra Organic since March 2017. Dosing 1.1ml for my 150litre tank. (Recommendation was 1ml/100litre)

Decided to try Ultra MinS. Just got it today. Dosing recommendation is 3-5ml/1000litre and wanted to start at 50% of recommended dose. So dosing at 0.2ml for my 150litre tank.

My N03 is 1ppm. Do you see any issues on the dosing amount for UltraMinS?

Side note: i am also dosing RV and CE every 4 days

Pls advice
    • Vinny,
      My diatom problem does not seem to go away. I checked my silicate, po4 , nitrate and they seem to be on the acceptable level.

I have a rock that is cover with diatom and it is only about 15cm away from the the pump. My back glass and the right side of the tank is worst hit.

I really don't know what ti do next
    • What kind of lighting are you running and for how many hours per day?
      Are you getting any direct sunlight hitting the tank?
      • Check the TDS coming out of your RO/DI unit, it should be no higher than 3 TDS.
        • Do you find that the diatoms grow quicker after each water change?
      • Add a combination of 12 hermit crabs and 4 more snails; blue legs, red legs, turbo snails, cerith snails
    • Vinny,
      I have a orpek atlantik v3+ compact. It has 4 channels and all channels at the same intensity at 63%. The channel 1(white) is 5hrs at 63%, ramp up in 3 hrs and ramp down 1 hr. this time is orpek's pre set programme and i just changed the intensity.

No sunlight on tank.

I am only using DI system without RO. TDS is zero.

I clean sandbed during water change and it appear about two days later till the next water change. After light goes of, diatom reduce and gets back when light on.
      I just reduced the intensity to 60%
      will add more clean up crew
    • Vinny,